Endless Love part 2

Ok this story is worth mentioning as well. The same setting, same placement and similar story as described below. But the characters in this context are slightly different- they were husband and wife: Jack and Joan (Confidentiality alert: No one is at risk of being harmed by mentioning names!)

One lovely couple these 2 were. Jack was a Scottish man aged around 92 and Joan was an English lady who was 80ish. They both have been together for around 60 years and the relationship they had was quite surreal. They amazed me so much that walking/running  20 mins to catch a 40 mins train early in the morning and walking 20 mins from the train station there to work felt like an ice cream on a hot summer day. Their only daughter was in America and so they treated me like their daughter (Joan used to say I reminded her of her daughter!). Even though they both suffered from mild dementia; they smiled, sang songs together, laughed, made others laugh, held hands together and were beyond amazing. When it was summer time and the daffodils were around, Joan always used to say in her English accent’look at the daffodils, arent they just lovely’?!

So, as usual,wanting  these 2 lovely characters to stay alive in me, I wrote couple of words to remind myself of how they were. Here it goes:-

‘Let’s go back to the memories one more time
Hold my hand tight, close your eyes and trust me
There’s no other better place to be!
Do you remember when I first asked you to dance dear?
Oh it was a beautiful night indeed!
And you looked gorgeous by the way
How I remember it all crystal clear
That night never loses it fragrances…’

I left this unfinished. I had no clue why. After almost year, I worked up the courage to go back and visit everyone. I saw Joan in the dining room. She didn’t have that ‘glow’ she had before. She of course didn’t (and wouldn’t have) recognise me. I asked the nurse nearby where Jack was. She whispered to me that Jack passed away. I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. It’s an old age home with fragile elderly people. Death is not an unknown guest there. But still, my heart stank and I understood why I never finished the poem!

ps: There will be a part 3! Theres something else that ought to be mentioned! 😉

Leave a Reply

