Annoying voice!

I’ve been ‘trying’ to change myself and not be overly lazy over the past couple of days(!). My attempts were successful when I made the effort to wake up before 9 am everyday (it’s a big deal for me man!) and getting around doing some things that were meant to be done.

I went to bed around 2-ish last night. When I went to bed, I said to myself that I’m going to have an easy day today and wake up late. However, at 7 am this morning, my mother knocked on my door to ask me if I wanted to drop her off at work. I said ‘no’ and turned to the other side. (My father was going to drop her off anyways). I was really tired as I didn’t get much sleep last night (hot weather!). My body, my mind and every bit in me was telling me not to get up and sleep some more. But something else in me told me to get up and drop my mother off. I don’t know what you call it, inner voice, good voice,,you know what,,,I’m going to call it the ‘annoying voice’. So I decided to listen to that annoying voice . I got up, got ready and dropped my mother off along with my father (who by the way constantly reminded me of my bad lane position (!))

The annoying voice got its way again when I listened and went to the nearby park for a run. After I was done with the run, shower and everything…I came up to my room and came across the ‘Marley and Me’ movie scene. I’ve never seen this. I had this urge to watch it. The domineering voice of annoying voice took over my desire to watch it. Instead, I took Paulo Coelho’s ‘Pilgrimage’ that I never managed to finish, went down to the conservatory and read it for an hour with a cup of tea in me hand (Bliss!)

I read a lot of things from ‘The Pilgrimage’. One of which coincidently was about listening to your inner voice. This made me reflect on my actions and thoughts from 7 am this morning. If I hadn’t listened to the annoying voice, I would have slept till 1, get up, loaf about, and before I know I will be back in my bed again for a good night sleep. I won’t have anything to be proud of,  anything to smile about, anything to feel good about. And then, all I could do is just sigh and say ‘what a waste day this was’. These things are the easiest thing for me to do. Going with the ‘flow’ and just doing whatever. I aint going to lie, listening to and obeying the annoying fragile voice will take a bit or a lot of effort. BUT, when you do listen to it…you’re going to feel awfully  proud about yourself and will be in a terrific mood no matter how darn tired you are! The annoying and impassive voice is now telling me to go draw something. I guess I have to do as I’m told. Annoying!

Leave a Reply

