Identity theft!

So for years, I’ve been quite careful about not losing my identity. However, yesterday, for the first time, I lost it. I lost my identity! I lost my identity  to marriage!!

Ok, that’s a little bit dramatic!

So the point is, I  changed my surname to Mathew. A lot of reasons why I did that, some right, some wrong. It sure is difficult for some to engage in that process of changing their surnames after getting married. Whilst it is as painful as it is to let go of an identity that I played so well for the past 25 years, and accept a new identity that I will be playing (well-ish?)for the rest of my life; I sure am glad that it is only my name that is changing because of marriage and not my personality. I will continue to view the world the way I see it, hear the things I want to hear and continue being an A* hole as my husband says, regardless of my marital status.

Leave a Reply

